Jennifer Egan, Sherman Alexie win Carnegie medals

NEW YORK — Jennifer Egan and Sherman Alexie are the 2018 winners of the Carnegie Medal for literary excellence.

Egan won the fiction prize for "Manhattan Beach," her novel set in New York City in the mid-20th century. Alexie won in nonfiction for "You Don't Have to Say You Love Me: A Memoir." The American Library Association announced the selections Sunday night during its annual midwinter meeting, held this year in Denver.

The Carnegie medals were established in 2012. Previous winners include Colson Whitehead, Donna Tartt and Doris Kearns Goodwin.

Related News

Daughter of Motown stars to Detroit students: Find your beat

Aug 11, 2016

The daughter of Motown Records founder Berry Gordy and one of its biggest stars, Diana Ross, says young Detroiters should learn about their city's rich artistic legacy _ then forge their own path

Stephen Colbert, Showtime in talks for live election special

Aug 11, 2016

Showtime is in talks with Stephen Colbert to host a live election-night comedy special, the channel's chief executive says

Taran Killam and Jay Pharoah each land a Showtime series

Aug 11, 2016

Taran Killam and Jay Pharoah will each star in their own half-hour comedy series for Showtime

In Celeb Wired, we talk about everything in the entertainment industry from A to Z. We keep our gossip hunters updated with the daily hot news because we have exactly what you’re looking for.

Contact us:

Celebrity Adult Entertainment Animation & Comics Award Shows Beauty Pageants Books & Literature Fashion Shows Movies Music Radio Programs Television Programs Variety Shows Press Releases